

Acknowledgements

The Royal Pharmaceutical Society and NHS Pharmaceutical Quality Assurance Committee are grateful to the editor Dr Alison M Beaney, also to the individuals and organisations who have provided contributions and comment for the 5th edition of Quality Assurance of Aseptic Preparation Services: Standards. All the standards have been updated for this edition. The main contributors for this update are:

Richard Bateman	Quality Assurance Specialist Pharmacist East
	and South East England, Guy's and St
	Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust, UK
Alison M Beaney	Regional Quality Assurance Specialist North
,	East and North Cumbria, Newcastle upon
	Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, UK
Anne Black	Assistant Director of Pharmacy - Quality
	Assurance, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals
	NHS Foundation Trust, UK
Charlotte Gibb (on behalf of the NHS	Accountable Pharmacist, Pinderfields
Pharmaceutical Aseptic Services Group)	Hospital, The Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS
	Trust, UK
Joanne Hayes	Director of Technical Services, Stockport
	NHS Foundation Trust, UK
John Horncastle	Accountable Pharmacist, Newcastle upon
	Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, UK
Mark Jackson	Director, Quality Control North West
	(Liverpool), UK
Paul Maltby (on behalf of the UK	Formerly (now retired):- Principal
Radiopharmacy Group)	Radiopharmacist, Royal Liverpool and
	Broadgreen University Hospitals, UK
Linda Musker (on behalf of the Microbiology	Quality Assurance Specialist, Quality Control
Protocols Group)	North West (Liverpool), NHS England
M 1 011	North, UK
Mark Oldcorne (on behalf of the	All Wales QA Specialist Pharmacist, Betsi
Microbiology Protocols Group)	Cadwaladr University Health Board,
1-h C Dbd / bbbb	Wrexham Maelor Hospital, NHS Wales, UK
John C Rhodes (on behalf of the	Quality Assurance Specialist, Stockton
Microbiology Protocols Group)	Quality Control Laboratory, North Tees &
Mark Santillo (on behalf of the NHS National	Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust, UK Regional Quality Assurance Officer South
Research and Development Group)	West, Torbay and South Devon NHS
research and Development Group)	Foundation Trust, UK
Karen Shield	Pharmacy Production Manager, Sunderland
Tan St. Stilleto	Royal Hospital, UK
Tim Sizer (on behalf of the Microbiology	Regional Pharmaceutical Quality Assurance
Protocols Group)	Pharmacist, NHS England South, UK
Lauren Stewart	Senior Pharmacist, Quality Assurance,
	Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS
	Foundation Trust, ÚK



With thanks to Leslie Rippon who provided valuable administrative assistance.

NHS Pharmaceutical Quality Assurance Committee Microbiology Protocols Group:

Sarah Hiom	All Wales Research and Development
	Pharmacist, NHS Wales, UK
Linda Musker	Quality Assurance Specialist, Quality Control
	North West (Liverpool), NHS England
	North, UK
Ayo Ogunsanlu	Pharmacy Executive Lead QA & QC and
	QP, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust,
	UK
Mark Oldcorne	All Wales QA Specialist Pharmacist, Betsi
	Cadwaladr University Health Board,
	Wrexham Maelor Hospital, NHS Wales, UK
Bernie Sanders	East Midlands Regional QA/QC Head
	NHS England Central, UK
Janet Shaw	Microbiology Laboratory Section Head,
	Quality Control North West (Liverpool),
	NHS England North, UK
Tim Sizer (Chair)	Regional Pharmaceutical Quality Assurance
	Pharmacist, NHS England South, UK
Victoria Tickle	Lead Microbiologist, Stockton Quality
	Control Laboratory, North Tees &
	Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust, UK
John C Rhodes	Quality Assurance Specialist, Stockton
	Quality Control Laboratory, North Tees &
	Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust, UK



National NHS Pharmaceutical Research and Development Group:

C A:	D: : D
Suresh Aiyalu	Principal Pharmacist, Aseptic Services
	Sandwell and West Birmingham Hospitals
	NHS Trust, UK
Andrew Parence	
Andrew Barnes	Deputy Director of Pharmacy Quality
	Assurance Specialist Services East of England
	& Northamptonshire, UK
Wayne Goddard	Laboratory Manager, Stockton Quality
	Control Laboratory, North Tees &
	Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust, UK
Mark Oldcorne	All Wales QA Specialist Pharmacist, Betsi
	Cadwaladr University Health Board,
	Wrexham Maelor Hospital, NHS Wales, UK
Mark Santillo (Chair)	Regional Quality Assurance Officer, Torbay
	& South Devon NHS Foundation Trust, UK
Phil Weir	Principal Scientist, Head of Scientific Services,
	Quality Control North West, Stockport, UK

Consultees

Consultees who responded included the following organisations:

Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA)		
NHS Pharmaceutical Quality Assurance Committee (PQAC)		
Pharmaceutical Aseptic Services Group (PASG)		
UK Radiopharmacy Group (UKRG)		

The NHS Pharmaceutical Quality Assurance Committee, NHS Pharmaceutical Aseptic Services Group, UK Radiopharmacy Group include representatives from England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

RPS Project Team

Catherine Duggan	Director of Professional Development and Support
Sam Haddaway	Marketing Executive
Julia Kettlewell	Head of Marketing
Rachel Norton	Senior Professional Support Pharmacist
Parita Patel	Product Manager, RPS Publishing
Harvinder Sondh	Director of Marketing and Product
	Development, RPS Publishing
Ruth Wakeman	Assistant Director of Professional
	Development and Support

With thanks to colleagues in RPS Publishing, RPS Finance and Resources, and RPS website team for their valuable assistance.